Our Board


The highest decision-making body within MEFL is the Board of Directors. The Board is responsible for ensuring good corporate governance and taking a strategic view to guide MEFL’s activities.

Selection process

Board members are nominated in different ways:

  • Moreland City Council has responsibility for nominating a Councillor and a Council officer to the Board.
  • The members of MEFL elect another member.
  • The CEO is a member of the Board.
  • The additional four positions are filled by the Board based on a skills and qualities-based selection process.


MEFL is a company limited by guarantee, which means that the Company Constitution provides the rules under which the organisation must operate.

Download the Constitution (PDF, 150kB)

Current board members

Travis Neal


Travis has extensive experience in the energy and sustainability sectors. He is currently the CFO at Senivon and has previously served as an executive at Pacific Hydro and CFO at Sustainability Victoria. He has a commitment to and passion for MEFL’s work, having previously served on its Board and as a current sub-committee member.

Alison Rowe

Chief Executive Officer

Board member since: 2016

Alison was formerly the Global Executive Director Sustainability for Fujitsu, where she created and implemented the global strategy for sustainability. Alison is a well-known public speaker, respected thought leader, and winner of the Business Leader of the Year by Climate Alliance in 2013.

Read more »

Contact Alison Rowe

Andrew Hewett

Board Member

Board member since: 2010

Andrew Hewett is a Brunswick resident and joined the MEFL Board in late 2010. . He worked at Oxfam Australia for nearly 22 years, including over 11 years as Executive Director (CEO).

Andrew has extensive international advocacy experience, was a member of the World Bank NGO Committee for four years and has participated in and observed numerous international conferences, including those of the World Trade Organisation and the World Bank. 

Read more »

Catherine Leslie

Community representative

Board member since: 2014

Catherine has lived in Moreland for over ten years, and resides in Pascoe Vale South. Catherine is a senior lawyer in the Civil Justice Access and Equity team at Victoria Legal Aid and advocates for the rights of disadvantaged clients from across Melbourne.

Read more »

Cr Dale Martin

Moreland Council nominee

Dale Martin was elected Councillor in the City of Moreland in October 2016 and was nominated MEFL board member in November 2016.

Dale has held positions in a diverse range of roles and organisations in the energy and environmental advocacy sectors. His experience includes advisory and analyst positions working in the public sector and for the Australian Energy Market Operator.

Read more »

Dugald Murray

Board member

Board member since: 2016

Dugald is a Director at the Nous Group, a leading management consultancy for strategy, public policy, organisational capability, leadership development and digital transformation.

Read more »

Nikki Potter

Board member

Board member since: 2018

Nikki is an accomplished senior executive and board member with over 30 years of leadership experience in a variety of mid-market companies in diverse industries. She has led organisations through start-up, accelerated growth and major turnarounds.

Read more »

James Scott

Moreland Council nominee

Board member since: 2011

James is the Director Corporate Services at Moreland City Council, responsible for Customer Service, Communications, Finance, Governance, Property and Information Technology.

He is a Chartered Accountant and worked for commercial organisations in the airline and financial consulting sectors for 12 years before joining Council in 2002.

Sarah Paparo

Company Secretary

Company Secretary since: 2018

Sarah heads up the policy and regulation practice at Marchment Hill Consulting (MHC). Prior to joining MHC Sarah worked with the Low Carbon Contracts Company, one of the UK government’s central implementation agencies for energy market reform and emerging technology development.

Read more »